Americas Preferred Home Warranty Reviews

Show reviews that mention
warranty home home warranty service claim contractor customer customer service money experience
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

Denial after denial - they pay for *nothing*

Americas Preferred Home Warranty - Denial after denial - they pay for *nothing*
Americas Preferred Home Warranty - Denial after denial - they pay for *nothing*
Update by user Apr 14, 2020

***update: just look at the company’s reply below. It explains things better than I can. Jeez.

Update by user Apr 10, 2020

**update: see the email screenshot below. What kind of company refuses to put in writing its reason for denying a claim? Scam.

Original review posted by user Apr 09, 2020
Well guys, I really wish I knew PissedConsumer.com existed before I bought a home warranty. APHW was rated as the best home warranty by Consumer Advocate, etc (2019). All I can figure is that all the other companies must actually break into your house and rob you. That's the only way they could be any worse than APHW. I paid for their Supreme Home Warranty with all the add-ons, bells and whistles, and a $100 deductible. I've now filed two claims - plumbing and A/C - both of them straightforward and exactly what you buy a home warranty for. APHW denied both claims. Not a penny. And you can tell when they're speaking with the service technician that they're trying to figure out a way to not pay the claim. Most of the service personnel around here (Texas) refuse to deal with home warranties for this reason. Anyhow, one of the things I hate worst in this world is feeling like a fool. Unless you like that feeling, I'd think twice about home warranties in general. That said, if you're still going to purchase one, find another company. Any other company.

User's recommendation: Avoid this company.

View full review
2 comments
#1850141

Who is Jolene? My name is Marc and I never made a dishwasher claim and you never approved $1 for either of my claims.

Good lord. My claim number is on both of the email screenshots I posted here. You guys continually amaze me. Nate from your office called me after my Home Advisor review went up.

He changed your story again and said you couldn’t pay my claim because you couldn’t reach the contractor who did the work. This just isn’t true. The contractor refuses to speak with you again because of your behavior when you spoke to him at my house. Your scam is reprehensible.

I guess you should probably find Jolene and give her your line of BS.

You can copy and paste it. I don’t mind.

#1849721

Hello Jolene, I appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review. I have taken a second look at your claims, and I see that your dishwasher claim was a non-covered part.

I do understand your frustration with needing to call out a licensed technician to diagnose the issue, however this step is essential as the warranty covers specific items that fail due to normal wear and tear, which is why it is necessary to get the diagnosis before any determinations can be made. I have also reviewed your heat pump claim and I see that we approved the maximum amount based on your equipment’s value. If you have any further questions or concerns, or need to file any other claims before your contract expiration, please don’t hesitate to call.

We are available to you 24/7/365. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCare@aphw.com America's Preferred Home Warranty

View more comments (1)
ID
#1861726 Review #1861726 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor service
  • Try to get out of providing service
  • Dishonesty
Loss
$1242
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Positive review

Theyre all very friendly, warm and welcoming. Anytime I had any questions somebody was there to answer my questions, they helped do my claim in a quick manner and also issued my reimbursement in a timely manner! Never had any issues!

User's recommendation: Will recommend.

View full review
1 comment
#2085969

Hello Megan, Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your experience with America’s Preferred Home Warranty! I am pleased our award-winning customer service department was able to assist you and that your reimbursement was processed quickly.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions or to file any additional claims.

We are available 24/7/365 at 1.800.648.5006 and we look forward to speaking with you. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com America's Preferred Home Warranty

ID
#2994267 Review #2994267 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Being able to use my own contractor
Cons
  • None at this time

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Positive experience

Original review updated by user Sep 07, 2021
While one claim regarding garage door was not covered, a previous claim on a hot water tank was, which was a big help. Customer service was prompt and professional. Recommended!
View full review
1 comment
#2069467

Hello Chris, We greatly appreciate this review of your experience and we are pleased to have been able to assist you with the replacement of the water heater! Please do not hesitate to call with any questions or claims.

We are available 24/7/365 and can be reached at 1.800.648.5006.

We look forward to taking your call. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com America's Preferred Home Warranty

ID
#2848414 Review #2848414 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer
This "policy" was included as part of our home closing, and what an absolute joke it is! Won't cover anything if previous owners even touched it and will give you the bare minimum on any older systems or appliances. Not to mention the complete hassel it is to even have...
View full review
View full review
3 comments
#2042029

Hi Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. With the information provided I was able to review your claims for a better understanding.

The warranty assists with specific items that fail due to normal wear and tear. It does not cover everything, and it may not cover the entire cost of a covered repair or replacement. In addition, systems beyond the manufacturer’s/ industry standard life expectancy are covered at the sole discretion of the Company. Upon reviewing your claims, I am happy to see that we were able to approve an amount to assist with replacing your 30-yr-old air conditioner.

Once the work is completed, please email your paid-in-full invoice, and give us a call to confirm your mailing address for reimbursement. Should you need further assistance, our Customer Care Team is available 24/7/365.

Please call us at 800.648.5006; we are standing by to take your call. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com America’s Preferred Home Warranty

View more comments
ID
#2720567 Review #2720567 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
When purchasing my home, we elected to have APHW just in case something should go wrong within our first year living in the house. We chose an additional pkg to cover our new pool. Within months of living in the new house, the pool pump went out. The claims process...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2014955

Hi Erin, Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review, and for your renewal! We know unexpected repairs can be very stressful; we have a simple 3-step process that makes it easy, fast, and efficient for our homeowners to file claims.

Should you need assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to call us at 800.648.5006; our Customer Service Team is available 24/7/365 and standing by to take your call. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com America’s Preferred Home Warranty

ID
#2558699 Review #2558699 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer
Read details carefully they don't cover much Do not purchase. Backed out on covering most of my items. Not worth the money or time. User's recommendation: Do not purchase
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2005246

Hi Mark, Thank you for leaving a review. I can understand your frustration and would like to review your claim; however, with the limited information here, I am unable to do so.

Would you please email your claim number and property address to CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com so that we can review your claim? Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCaresupport@aphw.com America’s Preferred Home Warranty

View more comments
ID
#2513044 Review #2513044 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Painesville, Ohio
Loss
$2200
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Had a good experience with APHW last year so I just renewed

Original review updated by user Mar 11, 2021
I bought an older home just over a year ago and an APHW warranty was included as part of the purchase. APHW stands head and shoulders above previous home warranty companies I have used because APHW allows me to select any repair contractor of my choosing. In the past 12-months, I have had several systems in my home fail (roof leak, plumbing leak, toilet valves failed, HVAC system replacement, HVAC duct replacement, kitchen range failure & replacement). Each time, APHW has been there to assist me and pay for a portion of the repair or replacement. The warranty more than paid for itself and really helped me financially. Customer service staff have always been friendly and helpful when I need to file a claim, answering my questions and helping me to get the most out of my plan. Claims can be filed online and payment of my claim has always been prompt. APHW has a variety of plans, deductible amounts, and add-on riders so you only pay for what you need. I like APHW so much that I just renewed my coverage for the coming year. This year they have added a free benefit that pays cash-back on purchases made using gift cards at a wide variety of stores. I highly recommend APHW to anyone who is buying or selling a home, or anyone whose home is aging and would like some peace of mind regarding potential repairs.

User's recommendation: There is a deductible for every covered service claim. This is a limited contract so certain repairs or specific items may not be fully covered. You should read the policy terms and conditions outlined in the APHW brochure prior to purchase to see if the plan makes sense for your situation.

View full review
2 comments
#1992096

HI David, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! Providing excellent customer service in an efficient manner is our #1 priority along with offering many affordable options for our homeowners.

I am happy to see we were able to provide this for you. If you find you need our assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to call us at 800.648.5006.

Our Customer Service Department is available 24/7/365 and ready to help. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@***.com America’s Preferred Home Warranty

#1991991

HI David, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! Providing excellent customer service in an efficient manner is our #1 priority along with offering many affordable options for our homeowners.

I am happy to see we were able to provide this for you. If you find you need our assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to call us at 800.648.5006.

Our Customer Service Department is available 24/7/365 and ready to help. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@***.com America’s Preferred Home Warranty

View more comments (1)
ID
#2453778 Review #2453778 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Americas Preferred Home Warranty Home Warranty

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Provide Feedback & Describe Experience

Excellent service. Easy claims process and worked quickly with the contracting company to approve the claim and submit for reimbursement.

User's recommendation: Highly Recommend.

View full review
1 comment
#1986685

Hello Rhyan, Thank you for submitting a review of your experience with our award winning customer service! I am happy to see you have enjoyed the simple 3 step claims process and efficiency we strive for.

Feel free to contact us at any time with questions or to file claims if the need arises.

We look forward to taking your call. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com America's Preferred Home Warranty

ID
#2431798 Review #2431798 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Americas Preferred Home Warranty Warranty
New Reviewer
The staff at customer service center have been helpful and courteous. They have good response time with request. I love being able to pick my own contractor that I choose. They have several payment options for your contractors to be paid even paying them by their...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1983896

Hello Lazanna, Thank you for filling out (sounds like they are filling out a form) providing this review of your experience with APHW. I am pleased you have enjoyed the convenience of choosing your own contractor and have been satisfied with our award winning customer service.

We understand the burden that comes with unexpected break downs in the home and we strive for excellence when assisting you during this hard difficult time.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with further questions or claims, should the need arise. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com America's Preferred Home Warranty

ID
#2420086 Review #2420086 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Americas Preferred Home Warranty Warranty
Preferred solution
just giving review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Happy Customer

When I purchased my new home last year I carefully researched online reviews before choosing America's Preferred Home Warranty. During this previous year I filed 7 claims. Each claim was approved with a simple call from my selected repair person to APHW. It was never difficult to get through to them. Some of my repairs were done by large companies and others by individuals working for themselves. All claims were paid in a timely manner to the maximum coverage of each item. Overall I was paid 10x the cost of the repair.

User's recommendation: Trust APHW. Excellent company.

View full review
2 comments
#1983025

I meant 10x cost of the policy, notbthe repair.

#1982547

Hello Michael, Thank you for this excellent review of your experience! I am pleased the warranty has been a valuable asset for you.

Please do not hesitate to contact customer service at any time day or night should the need arise, we are standing by and will be happy to take your call. Respectfully, Customer Care Support Team CustomerCareSupport@aphw.com America's Preferred Home Warranty

View more comments (1)
ID
#2412352 Review #2412352 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Americas Preferred Home Warranty Home Warranty
Preferred solution
Recommendation

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Ac broke

Ac unit not working properly
View full review
1 comment
#1869882

Hello Mark, Thank you for your review. Please contact customer service if you require additional assistance. We are available 24/7/365 at 1-800-648-5006.

ID
#1953072 Review #1953072 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Received and email

The user experience thus far has been absolutely horrible. The process APHW has set up does not respect contractor time nor mine. Very unhappy, will always recommend realtors, investors and homeowners in my sphere of influence to stay away from APHW. Not worth it. My experience as a customer is that there is no awareness at APHW of the homeowner customer experience or the inspecting contractor's experience. If it does improve or change, happy to re review :-)

User's recommendation: never ever purchase a home warrenty through APHW.

View full review
1 comment
#1868319

Hello Adam, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. However, I am unable to access your account with such limited information offered on this site.

Please send your address, claim or contract number to customercaresupport@aphw.com so I may take another look into your contract.

Thank you for your time and cooperation. I look forward to hearing from you.

ID
#1946850 Review #1946850 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Americas Preferred Home Warranty Customer Care
Cons
  • No sense of user experience
  • Not helpful
  • Try to get out of providing service
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Work with me to improve homeowner experience

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

To say thanks

I want to thank APHW for helping me with my first claim today. The claims process was much easier than I anticipated. I followed simple directions and started the claim last night. Today I called while the contractor was here and received approval for the work needed. I paid the contractor and then emailed the contractor's invoice to APHW for reimbursement. Anna was very helpful in confirming the email address I needed to send the invoice to, then she stayed on withe to confirm my email and invoice were received. The entire experience was very pleasant. I am so glad I did my research and found APHW!

User's recommendation: You will not regret doing business with this top notch company!

View full review
1 comment
#1865762

Hi Forrest, Thank you so much for this wonderful 5 star review of your experience. I am pleased to hear it was such a smooth and simple process.

We strive and work hard for customer satisfaction.

We greatly appreciate you following the simple 3 step process of filing a claim. We look forward to working with you in the future, should the need arise.

ID
#1936640 Review #1936640 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Being able to use my own contractor
  • Excellent service and coverage
Cons
  • None at this time
New Reviewer

Very helpful!

We experienced a leak from our garbage disposal a week after moving into our new home. I spoke with Unique, and she was super helpful in talking me through the process of finding a contractor and working with the home warranty.
View full review
1 comment
#1865761

Hello Paige, Thank you for filling out a review of your experience with our award winning customer service department. I am happy to see that your questions were answered and you were able to get help with the process. Please contact customer service if you need additional assistance.

ID
#1934212 Review #1934212 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Fast response times

Anytime I have had to use them they have absolutely great response times!
View full review
1 comment
#1864737

Hi Nakischa, We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our company! We take pride in offering fast and courteous service to our customers.

Please call 1-800-648-5006 with any questions or to file a claim. We are here 24/7/365.

ID
#1930574 Review #1930574 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Americas Preferred Home Warranty Customer Care

Request

Unique provided amazing service to help me create a new claim for my showers and tub.

User's recommendation: Ask for Unique!

View full review
1 comment
#1864736

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to file a review. I am happy to see that our customer service department was able to assist you so proficiently with your needs in opening claims. Feel free to call us 24/7/365.

ID
#1930329 Review #1930329 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article